A Playground for Authors Jason White and Michael Schutz-Ryan

Real Life and the State of the Podcast

So, real life has made my life a bit of a roller coaster for the past two years. First, I was laid off from a job I held for twelve years. Then I went to school. Financial Aid didn’t communicate some technical information with me, and a bunch of other students, and so now I’m back out of school and have a new job. I was taking Interactive Web Design and Development, and I must say, I was having the time of my life. Well, maybe not my whole life, but it was a hell of a lot of fun nevertheless.

I imagine that I will indeed return to school once I can apply for more assistance, but until then, I plan on doing nothing but work and write. Maybe I’ll add podcasting to that. Who knows?

But I have a nine-month-old son, who reminds me every day that making plans is futile. He is the true overlord and master of my realm. And it is He that makes the rules nowadays.

I’m joking around, of course, but there is a lot of truth in that small paragraph above. Having a kid soaks up a shit-ton of time. If you don’t believe me, ask my wife. Ask any new mother and/or father. It’s a lot of work. In the end it’s worth it, but things like writing books and blogs and podcasting and doing homework tend to take second stage to the demands of a hungry, attention-starved baby.

So, yeah, there are setbacks. There always are.

Here’s another setback:

I always knew that podcasting was hard, especially for me, but I didn’t realize how hard it is until I tried recording my first episode. My plan, as I know that I need to get comfortable talking into a mic while in a room alone, was to discuss with the microphone one of my new favourite television shows, Penny Dreadful. I was talking last night about the first episode when I realized that I’d been talking and watching the show for over an hour and had only recorded about 24 minutes of podcast.

I ended up quitting. I do plan on trying to ether a) finishing that episode, or b) trying a different method. I do have some ideas for the latter option, but we’ll see.

It turned out that I would have had to quit recording anyway, because Keenan, my son, woke up soon after. And he refused to go back to sleep for hours.

It was a crazy night. Yet on I march! You might see a podcast and, behold! more blog posts from me yet.

Leave a Reply

