A Playground for Authors Jason White and Michael Schutz-Ryan

Godzilla 2014 Pt 2: More Reflections on History

ImageI always knew that there was a big Godzilla history within movies. I also knew that there were a lot of movies within the franchise and a lot of knock offs. Having listened to a recent episode of Horror Etc regarding Godzilla the new movie, I found myself somewhat educated. It disappointed me that I hadn’t seen the many of the older movies to see what made this year’s Godzilla so good, or at least faithful.

I have seen one or two Godzilla films. I remember they were on all the time Saturday and Sunday afternoons. I loved them and still do, but I didn’t follow them with any sort of loyalty.

Well, that’s about to change. I’m going o watch as many Godzilla movies I can find. There’s just something awesome about giant lizards fighting other giant beings. Kind of shows us, in a way, just how small we are. As when we look up at the night sky and realize that our planet is smaller than a grain of sand some of us feel a cosmic horror. With this, I suppose it’s more like reptile horror. 

Leave a Reply

